Skip to content

The light at the end of the tunnel…

July 23, 2012

Jill “Baconeyes” Emmert

Am I the only one with Slaughter’s “Up All Night” running through their head every weekend lately? Up all night…sleep all day…

Demonica has been a challenge for every department from the very beginning. This is the first time we have done a period piece, used huge amounts of special effects, and utilized a plethora of extras. For me, it is my first attempt at costuming a feature-length film. Every shoot has taught me something new, and I am figuring out ways to be more successful the next time around.

On the other hand, I have figured out there are things that I unknowingly did right…like trusting my gut instincts when shopping. There were many times I would see pants or a shirt on the rack and think, “that would be perfect for this movie…but I don’t have anyone to dress in it.” Then, I would buy it anyway.

And, like clockwork on the next night of shooting, someone was added to the extras roster that was exactly the right size. I have been told it is like I am like a real life Mary Poppins…and after more than six occurrences, I am starting to believe there may be some truth to it! Either that, or I am just that lucky! I like to think I am a blood-relative to the Poppins family; however, I think the former is a lot more likely…

All of the problems aside, this has been a great cast and crew. I have met new people, made new friends and reconnected with many more. While the weekends have been long and grueling, there isn’t another group of people with whom I would want to commiserate. When August finally rolls around, I am going to miss my Demonica family!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

