Skip to content

Wow, Prescribed Films.. Where to start…

July 6, 2012

Rachel Russell

I’m so thankful for them taking a chance on me and risking a lot for a girl they barely knew, apart from a few YouTube videos! I’ve had an incredible experience and I dread the end of filming. Not only are they fun and know a lot about film making, they are passionate and they care about their actors, which, of course, I love.

As a recent UNI graduate with a Theatre: Performance degree, I’ve heard my share of doubtful thoughts from peers about getting a job. All I wanted was to get an acting gig right out of college just to prove to them I could do it on my own. It helps knowing people who know people, but when it comes time to get the part, it’s all you, baby. I introduced myself to Jason Bolinger via internet and he was so cool about giving me information on auditioning. I was stoked and ready to jump into something I knew very little about, and luckily they were happy to have me!

I look forward to driving two hours down to Oskaloosa from Cedar Falls to spend all night having fun (and occasionally making a film) with these people! I met Mike Saunders, the director, on set the first night and was immediately relieved of my nerves because he was clear in what he wanted from me but was still open to me just living in the moment in the scene; a directing style that I feel lucky to be around, honestly. I wanted a challenge, I needed a challenge, and they gave it to me. I’d like to thank them very much for that!

The people that I have met on set will stay with me for a long time. From an Iowa Paranormal dude to a legendary Scream Queen, everyone is so unique and talented! It’s refreshing to meet people with different backgrounds that I know nothing about until a 2 am heart to heart! I’d like to thank them for letting me practice and build my skills at such a fragile state for most college grads. I really appreciate the joy and spirit that are carried along with this set every single night too. Even when it’s 3 am and the birdies are chirping away, everyone is still pumped up and ready to make a film.

I’ve really enjoyed working with actors who all have different training and acting experience. I loved college and my fellow actors and knowing we all had similar training, but getting out into the wild and learning new things from new people is what I needed at this point in my career. I have been reassured that this is what I want to do for a very long time. I love Prescribed Films and I hope they will allow me to be around them for a while.

Rachel Russell appears as “Vicki” in the upcoming Prescribed Films feature: Demonica.

One Comment leave one →
  1. dan hampel permalink
    July 9, 2012 9:06 pm

    Your the coolest!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

