Skip to content

Turnip Truck Presents Catering for 20

June 15, 2012

Rachel “Mrs. Turnip” Lunsford

I grew up in a family of four. My mom taught me how to cook and bake for four plus a little. When I moved in with Turnip, I still cooked for four even though it was two of us. But for Demonica it’s 20 or more mouths to feed with a variety of preferences and allergies.

I take allergies quite seriously. A food allergy could really hurt someone. And PF isn’t really equipped to pay for hospital bills for reckless behavior like not realizing that nuts and blueberries kill (or serious harm). But how do you plan to feed a variety of preferences and requests for 20 people?

For me, the easiest seemed to be to select a quasi-theme. This week I’m going for comfort food with some overlaps in ingredients so that prep work is easier. I also break down my ingredients and attempt to prepare them all at once so it is easy to put together.  

I start out thinking about what fits in that theme – oatmeal, baked potatoes, and soup come to mind for me. And then I build more substantial meals around that. I decided that cooking on set via slow cookers was best so that the cast and crew can have a hot meal to keep them going. All recipes for this week are cooked in slow cookers. So this week we are having….

Friday – Build your own Hot Baked Potato Bar Add-ins: Ham, Bacon, Broccoli, Cheese, Butter, and Sour Cream

Saturday – Choose your own adventure Veggie Soup (Add-ins: Bacon or Chicken)

Sunday – Breakfast Casserole with sausage and bacon, Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal

It’s important to me that the meals are rounded out in protein and fiber so the cast and crew stay fuller longer and don’t die from long hours on set. As you saw earlier this week, the cast and crew work long, hard hours to make this awesome movie. I certainly want to help give them a second wind.

I hope the Demons are happy with this week’s offerings and spare my life for another week!

Break a leg, Demonica Cast and Crew!

Bon appetite,

Mrs. Turnip

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Swat permalink
    June 15, 2012 10:23 am

    We love your cooking and are soo happy to have you! You are like the Mom us Demon Spawns never had.

    • wordynerdygrrl permalink
      June 19, 2012 12:35 am

      Awww, that’s so sweet Swat! You certainly have faces only a mother could love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

