Skip to content

As the Turnip Turns: First week of catering for Demonica

June 1, 2012

Rachel “Mrs. Turnip” Lunsford

I’m back and I have fantastic news: the cast and crew of Demonica should be well fed this weekend. That is, if they like well-rounded meals. (Ahem Mr. Director) I have two goals in mind: attempt to feed everyone on less than $25 a day and provide something filling, delicious, and perhaps a bit nutritious too.

The $25 limit is what’s in the budget. I might go over… and that just means I’m donating more to fund Demonica. When I broke down what ordering several pizzas might be, the $25 would barely cover two large pizzas which would not feed a cast and crew of up to 30 people. I knew that if I was going to make something close to that dollar amount I would need to make a lot of stuff from scratch. Lucky for me, the Assistant Director lives with me so I have help at the ready.

I also wanted the cast and crew to get foods that would keep them fuller longer. I wouldn’t want any Demons to pass out on skates and screw up their pretty little Demon faces. Well… maybe that makes it better. Er you get the point. So I won’t say the menu I put together is healthy, but I will say it should be sustaining. And that’s exactly what we want – satiated Demons.

In the coming weeks, I will be way better about actually breaking down costs and anticipated numbers I am feeding. This weekend is the first weekend, so I’d expect a bit smoother sailing next weekend.Granola bars

The Menu:

Friday Night Dinner

  • Grilled Chicken or Portabella wraps with lettuce, carrots, and tomatoes
  • Side of Apple Chips
  • Homemade strawberry fruit roll ups

Saturday Night Dinner (late night)

  • Tapas-style Meats, cheeses, veggies, and fruit

Sunday Morning Breakfast

  • Baked Oatmeal to Go

Snacks any time

  • Homemade Granola Bars
  • Nuts
  • Fruit

To all the cast and crew of Demonica—break a leg!

And don’t you forget you can still donate to this movie. See that thermometer other there? Click it and donate some dough. No, not bread dough… you know cash.

See you in a week!

Mrs. Turnip

Mrs. Turnip is Rachel Lunsford. She is a pedigree geek with a deep love affair with chocolate, baking, and, of course, her husband Chris. You can follow her more mundane experiences at Life in the Middle (link: http://lifemiddle.wordpress.com/)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

