Skip to content

The 80’s are back – Oh. My. Gawd!

May 28, 2012

Jill “BaconEyes” Emmert

Neon colors, side ponytails, boat shoes without socks, off-shoulder shirts…I never thought I would see the day that the 80’s came back into fashion. But here we are…just in time for Demonica to begin filming!

When I was asked to costume this movie (along with the brilliant Katie Miller) I was like, totally excited. Dreams of jelly bracelets, big belts, Madonna and Miami Vice danced in my head. I couldn’t wait to get started playing dress up with my own life-sized action figures…and this task should be simple. All of the secondhand stores should have tons of high-waist, acid wash jeans and linen suits–right?

Boy, was I wrong…but I will get to that later.

Before casting started, I spent my time making friendship bracelets and pins while watching the classics for inspiration–Back to School, Sixteen Candles, Weird Science, Dragnet, Cool as Ice and more had multiple viewings in my apartment. The sounds of Kashagoogoo, Duran Duran and Flock of Seagulls filled my apartment. For added inspiration, I would throw on my best 80’s clothes and sport my favorite hairstyle–the ratted side ponytail.

Once casting was complete, the shopping began. When I set out on the first day, I thought it would take me two, maybe three, days. I visited every pawn shop, flea market, Goodwill and Salvation Army in the Des Moines metro area. Two weeks later, most of the employees have started to recognize me because of my regular appearance in their establishments.

Alicia Bricker as “Monica”

Then, to add a bigger challenge, I was told that the title character Monica is “Proto-Goth”–but we can’t dress her in black. Um…what?!?

Challenge accepted. In what has now been dubbed “The Great Acid-Wash Hunt of 2012,” I have come up with only three pairs of acid washed jeans and two pairs of high-waist women’s jeans. “Hammer Pants” are nonexistent. The socks we used to layer in our Keds are impossible to find. Cheap jelly shoes only existed in the 80’s.

With the resurgence of the 80’s style, new clothes are in abundance. But with a budget that comes to less than $8 per costume (shirt, pants, socks, shoes and accessories)–and the need of multiple identical outfits–this turned out to be quite a bit harder than anticipated.

I guess it is a good thing I enjoy the hunt and have plenty of time to shop. Demonica will not beat me!

Until next time…

-Jill “BaconEyes” Emmert

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2012 8:55 pm

    Don’t forget the spandex and the leg-warmers with matching sweat-bands – and the BIG hair!

    • May 30, 2012 10:35 pm

      It’s so hard doing a period piece on a tiny budget! It’s defiantly a labor of love.

      • May 31, 2012 12:35 pm

        When we did the film ‘Evil Streets’ (1996) we put out a call for donations locally and a list of things we were looking for. (denim jacket, leather jacket, props, etc.) People like to see the movie later and say, that was my jacket, or that was my Ouija Board, etc. I know you probably tried all this stuff already but figured I would put my 2-cents in.

Leave a Reply

