Skip to content

What Movie Making Means to Me…Turnip.

April 5, 2012

Hello there,

I’m Chris “Turnip” Simmons, or just Turnip, or Nips. Either way I write most of the posts on the lovely PF website. I wanted to take a step away from writing posts in the Prescribed Films “style” and talk about something that has been weighing on my mind over the last few weeks as we here at PF gear up for “Demonica”. What does movie making mean to me? I know it’s a bit too much like the title to a grade school essay but I’m becoming ever more reflective in my 30’s. Sue me.

I first started making movies with PF “way” back in in 2001-02 just as they were wrapping up ADR on “Requiem for a Dead Man.” I remember showing up to one of the sessions and watching “Insane Mike” stab bloody hamburger in the middle of a living room floor just to get the correct stabbing sound. The care and effort he put into that one sound effect was…”interesting.” I was hooked.

After that I took part in the next few PF feature films. I did just about everything except run camera and direct in “Faces of Really Nasty Stuff.” I played a supporting part and handled sound in “Double Feature.” I played a (somehow) twenty-two year old police detective in “Lights, Camera…Kill!” I even got the lead role in “The Bagman.”Image After all that I think my favorite PF involvement came just as I was moving away from the PFHQ and headed out east. I wrote the screenplay for “Through the Night” and fulfilled a personal dream.

Suddenly people were working on a script I had written. Actors were speaking my dialogue. “Insane Mike” and Jason were giving life to my dream. Here was a concept given form with the same love and care that went in to writing it. And here is why I love making movies. It is a uniquely collaborative artistic experience. In stage productions you may spend weeks working with a director and honing a character but when the lights go up it’s all you, for your part. In film making the collaboration doesn’t stop with the performance or the script. It continues on through editing, scoring, and releasing.

At least it does at our level of movie making. The low budget or no budget film HAS to be made for the love because there sure as hell isn’t any money in it. Just as collaboration doesn’t have an end it also has no cap on a beginning. We’re gearing up for “Demonica” and we desperately need your help and collaboration to see it finished. If you have the dedication and can help out on set, that is amazing and we would love to hear from you. If you can’t make the commitment of time you can still be an integral part of the process.

At the side of the screen you will see a thermometer that is tracking out progress to our fundraising goal. We still have a long way to go. One way or another we will see this movie made but it can be so much more with your help. Please donate to “Demonica” today and, if you donate at the even just the $100 level you’ll receive a copy of the finished product and be able to see what a difference your contribution made.

I don’t know exactly what I intend with this post. Mostly I just felt the need to impart some of the love and feeling I have towards the medium. The love for the process is something I want to be able to share with as many people as possible. And in whatever way you can take part in the process I want to say thank you and that we here at PF love having you along for the ride.

 

Chris “Turnip” Simmons

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

